North Carolina
 Building Inspector's Association

Education, Integrity, Professionalism
Board of Directors
Articles of Incorporation
Our History
COCO Newsletters
Inspector Lookup
Meeting Minutes
NCBIA Committee's
What's New!
Inspection Departments
Education - Integrity - Professionalism
Contact Us
Home Page
Our History
In 1955, Edison Hubert Johnson, P.E., then Chief Building Inspector for Durham and Kern E. Church, P.E., then Assistant State Fire Marshal discussed the future life safety of the citizens of North Carolina and the building code that governed the construction of buildings in North Carolina. At the conclusion of this discussion, both agreed that North Carolina was in need of a one and two family dwelling Code and that personnel should be available to enforce the code throughout the state. These two dedicated gentlemen further discussed the possibility of organizing a state building inspectors' association. As a direct result of this meeting between these dedicated professional engineers, the North Carolina Building Inspectors' Association was organized and chartered on June 26, 1956, at the first meeting which was held in Raleigh. Ed Johnson became the Association's first President and Kern Church became its first Secretary/Treasurer.

Some organizations are made great by circumstance, but this organization became a great organization by the hard and dedicated work of many inspectors, both regular and associate members and also persons who were non-members with the "can do" and "wilco" (will cooperate) attitude. Without the courage, faith and perserverance of those personnel who were charter members, the organzation would not be here today. With characteristic foresight, they saw the need for a professional building inspectors organization to assist in the protection of the health and safety of all citizens of this great state.
2015-2016 Tom Brown
2014-2015 Dan Dockery
2013-2014 Jeff Britt
2012-2013 Glenn Batten
2011-2012 Steve Sudderth
2010-2011 Harry VanWagenen
2009-2010 Les Everett
2008-2009 William Whaley
2007-2008 Harry Taylor
2006-2007 Jerry Thompson
2005-2006 Bucky Frye
2004-2005 Lon A. McSwain
2003-2004 Lynn S. Niblock
2002-2003 E. Curt Willis
2001-2002 Johnny Clark
2000-2001 Butch Simmons
1999-2000 Buddy Morehead
1998-1999 Ed Cianfarra
1997-1998 James Sprague
1996-1997 Aubrey Smith
1995-1996 Marshall Atchley
1994-1995 Deborah Smithwick
1993-1994 Terry Summey
1992-1993 Bobby Hill
1991-1992 Paul L. Aderhold
1990-1991 John R. Davis
1989-1990 Walter L. Gregory
1988-1989 Kenneth E. Hall
1987-1988 Tom L. Brotherton
1986-1987 Jack E. Wade
1985-1986 James F. Miller
1984-1985 John R. Smith
1983-1984 Clyde L. Britt
1982-1983 H. Vernon Gragg
1981-1982 E. P. "Buck" Pruitt
1980-1981 Julius Lamberth
1979-1980 William R. Stone
1978-1979 W. E. "Woody" France
1977-1978 O. R. "Buddy" Cutler
1976-1977 Edward L. Woods
1975-1976 Emory C. Albritton
1974-1975 Emory C. Albritton
1973-1974 Joe E. Johnson
1972-1973 Paul Agner
1971-1972 Nevette E. Kaylor
1970-1971 Haywodd Rowan
1969-1970 James L. Prillman
1968-1969 William H. Jamison
1967-1968 Freeman Hill
1966-1967 John Parhan
1965-1966 John Parham
1964-1965 John Fox
1963-1964 Carl Johnson
1962-1963 Amos Speas
1961-1962 Raymond Wallace
1960-1961 S. Warren Sanders
1959-1960 Cedric Boyd
1958-1959 James Bell
1957-1958 B. A. Manley
1956-1957 Ed Johnson
Past Presidents
Become a Member
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 17
Greenville, NC 27835
Mark Matheny
2017-2018 President
2017 Building Inspector of the Year :  Ernie Wilkes, City of Raleigh
2017 Edison "Hubert" Johnson Award: Amy Britt, Town of Clayton